FIM state that Marc Marquez will not serve penalty for Portugal crash

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
More
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

FIM state that Marc Marquez will not serve penalty for Portugal crash

Marquez and Oliveira were involved in a crash
Marquez and Oliveira were involved in a crashReuters
Honda rider Marc Marquez (30) will not serve a double long lap penalty imposed for his crash with Miguel Oliveira (28) in Portugal, the International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) said on Tuesday.

Marquez was granted a stay of execution last month on the penalty imposed after the six-times premier class champion locked up and barged straight into Oliveira, with both crashing out in the season-opener.

Marquez had apologised for his mistake and accepted a double long lap penalty for the second round in Argentina, but was then ruled out of the race due to a hand fracture which also forced him to sit out his home Spanish Grand Prix.

The Court of Appeal considered the punishment imposed on him as served by his non-participation in Argentina.

"Marc Marquez is hence allowed to compete in the next race in which he will be able to participate, without any further sanction," FIM said in a statement.

Marquez, who won his last title in 2019, has scored only seven points this season after finishing third in the sprint race in Portugal.

The Spaniard is targeting a return at the next round at the French Grand Prix in Le Mans, which will host the 1,000th Grand Prix in history.

21+ | COMPETENT REGULATOR EEEP | RISK OF ADDICTION & LOSS OF PROPERTY | KETHEA HELPLINE: 210 9237777 | PLAY RESPONSIBLY & SAFELY |

France gouvernement

Les jeux d’argent et de hasard peuvent être dangereux : pertes d’argent, conflits familiaux, addiction…

Retrouvez nos conseils sur joueurs-info-service.fr (09-74-75-13-13, appel non surtaxé)

Do you want to withdraw your consent to display betting ads?
Yes, change settings